Home Reviews Electronics Reviews Furuno RD726, RD926 and RD1226W: Remote Displays

Furuno RD726, RD926 and RD1226W: Remote Displays

0
Furuno RD926 9-inch NMEA 2000 remote display showing heading and set compass gauges
Image: Furuno

Furuno has quietly added a new family of touchscreen remote displays to its US site: the 7-inch RD726, the 9-inch RD926 and the 12.3-inch ultra-wide RD1226W. Think of them as a second or third screen for the flybridge, cockpit, tower, saloon or cabin, without paying for another full chartplotter.

What the RD Series does

The RD displays sit on the NMEA 2000 backbone and show what is already on the network: position, depth, COG/SOG, heading, waypoint guidance, AIS, wind, pressure, sea temperature, engine and fuel data, tank levels and motion data such as pitch, roll and heave. Display modes include data boxes, analogue gauges, graphs, a highway view, a race timer and an HTML browser. Furuno pitches them as add-ons to an existing TZtouchXL, TZtouchE or TZMAP system, and they mount in landscape or portrait.

There’s an Ethernet port as well. With a Furuno MFD on the network it brings NavNet Command Center to the RD screen, so compatible third-party systems (digital switching, lighting, audio, power management) can be controlled from it too.

Furuno RD726 7-inch remote display mounted in portrait showing SOG, heading and position
Image: Furuno

Key specs (from Furuno’s brochure)

RD726RD926RD1226W
Screen7″9″12.3″ ultra-wide
Resolution1280 x 7201280 x 7201920 x 720
US MSRP$995$1,495$2,295

All three: up to 1000 cd/m² brightness, IP56, -15 to +55 °C, 12-24 VDC, NMEA 2000 plus Ethernet, and USB-C screen mirroring with a dedicated optional cable.

Furuno RD1226W 12.3-inch ultra-wide remote display showing a highway navigation view with data boxes
Image: Furuno

How it compares with Raymarine Alpha and B&G Nemesis

Furuno RD SeriesRaymarine AlphaB&G Nemesis
Sizes7″, 9″, 12.3″ ultra-wide7″, 9″7″, 9″, 12″
Resolution1280 x 720 / 1280 x 720 / 1920 x 7201024 x 600 / 1280 x 7201024 x 600 / 1280 x 720 / 1280 x 800
BrightnessUp to 1000 cd/m² (typ)1500 nits1200 / 1300 / 1500 nits
WaterproofIP56IPx6 and IPx7IP67
NetworkNMEA 2000 + Ethernet; Power/RayNet Ethernet to Axiom plus daisy-chain; N2K/SeaTalkng data arrives via the AxiomNMEA 2000 (Micro-C, 1 LEN) + 100 Mbit Ethernet + Wi-Fi;
MFD needed for extrasN2K data without one; Command Center apps via Ethernet with TZtouchXL/TZtouchE/TZMAPAxiom or Axiom 2 required to operate at allNo MFD stated; B&G CPU over Ethernet, Nemesis Hub for multiple 9/12 screens
Touch or buttonsTouchscreenTouchscreen (lockable; brightness and page control from Axiom)Touchscreen; also B&G app and Apple Watch control
Portrait mountingYesYesYes
Digital switchingYes, via Command Center apps (e.g. Dometic, Lumitec)Not statedNot stated
Phone mirroringiPhone only, USB-C, optional cableNot statedNot stated
Operating temp-15 to +55 °C-25 to +55 °C-15 to +55 °C
Power and draw12-24 VDC; 1.4-0.7 A / 1.5-0.7 A / 2.2-1.1 A10.8-32 VDC; 10 W / 12 W max10-32 VDC; 12 W / 13 W / 19 W max
US price$995 / $1,495 / $2,295 (Furuno MSRP)$1,319.99 / $2,199.99 (Raymarine 2026 US price list)$1,329.99 / $2,149.99 / $3,219.99 (bandg.com US store)

Each of these locks you into its maker’s world for the extras: Alpha won’t run at all without an Axiom, and the RD’s Command Center apps need a Furuno MFD, while Nemesis runs from plain NMEA 2000 but keeps its CPU access and multi-screen hub B&G-only. On a Furuno-equipped sportfisher or cruiser the RD is the cheapest way to add a screen and the only one of the three that lists digital switching. Sailors already on Axiom or B&G will be better served by Alpha or Nemesis, which are brighter, better sealed (IPx7/IP67 against IP56) and built around sailing data. Furuno’s mirroring is iPhone-only, but neither rival lists phone mirroring at all.

Our take

We like the idea. A proper sunlight-readable N2K display with a browser and Command Center access for under $1,000 is a sensible way to get data to a second helm. Two things to check before you buy. Mirroring is listed for iPhone only, so Android owners get nothing there. And IP56 is splash-proof, not immersion-proof, so think twice before putting one fully exposed on an open tower. Furuno hasn’t published UK or EU pricing or a firm ship date yet, so we’ll update when it does.

Sources

Images: Furuno